noobbox.blogg.se

Setting fractions in word on a mac
Setting fractions in word on a mac













setting fractions in word on a mac

As for the Order of Operations? Forget PEMDAS! I love love LOVE the "Boss Triangle" (also on my math posters). Again, kids think they know what operations are and how they work, but they really don't! I also think this is paramount for making connections from integers to polynomials like the modules do. Operations I love this progression found on the math page here.I am not afraid to use the notation as in college either, I have made a poster! What is a set? A set of dishes, a set of tools, a set of numbers.I think this a good flow into the different number sets like the natural numbers, whole numbers, integers, etc. In 9th grade, students think they know what math is about, but I guess I want to shatter that illusion. What is a number? Is "12" a numeral? What is the value? Why wouldn't we use "(8-5)*4" to represent "12"? I want to have rich discussions, or even arguments, over what a number is.I love, love LOVE this quote! So inspiring and relevant! "Like other languages, Mathematics has its own vocabulary, grammar (principles that govern the correct use of a language), syntax (the part of grammar that concerns rules of word order), synonyms, negations, conventions, abbreviations, and sentence structure" ( Esty). Music, German, and Klingon are all languages. On the back, students have an opportunity to explain their grade for instance, maybe they were absent for a period of time and didn't know where to get the notes, maybe they had a hockey tournament and didn't bring their notebook, or maybe they are sloppy and haven't paid attention to detail. I grade the notebook out of 6 possible points, 3 from organization and neatness and 3 from completeness and quality. For now, these interactive notebooks seem to be working out really well! So far, I have created a rubric in which the students grade themselves and their progress each time, and I assess afterwards. Someday, perhaps, I can get them into writing about math and analyzing math in the news.

setting fractions in word on a mac

Things were too crazy, and class time was needed to establish my classroom goals, rather than introduce another weekly task that could perhaps drive them away from the math. I wanted to keep you all in the loop as to how things are going!įirst, the blogs had to get nixed. Somehow I survived the chaos and I am barely keeping my head afloat. I have Word 16.36 set to format my fractions: But Word formats only two such fractions: 1/3 1/5 1/6 1/7 1/8 1/9 1/10 1/11 Is there another setting or preference. A few things have occurred to keep me occupied: I moved, got married, my grandmother passed away, and I am the advisor for student council, who is responsible for the homecoming court and dance. Phew! It certainly has been a while since my last post.















Setting fractions in word on a mac